We are about to share Tips On How To Block Someone On Facebook Without Them Knowing you had blocked them…

Have you got an oversharing Facebook buddy who can’t stop with the food photos, a sullen friend who’s bringing you down with all his depressing updates, or a ‘frenemy’ who you don’t want peeking at your Facebook photo albums? Well, you could always hit the “unfriend” button, but doing so might seem a bit severe—and what if they find out? Luckily, there are a few ways to block someone on Facebook without them knowing, starting with…

Add Chatterboxes To Your “Acquaintances” List

So, you added a long-lost friend you remember fondly from high school, but they’re filling up your news feed with random links about their favorite TV shows, silly cat photos, and endless snapshots of their kids. It’s not that you want to slam the door on all their updates, just most of them.

Quick Read:

Want to see a little less of a friend in your news feed? Just add them to your Acquaintance list.

Here’s a quick, relatively painless solution: add your too-chatty friend to your Acquaintances list.

 

how to block a facebook friend

 

Once you do, Facebook will decrease the number of news feed updates you receive from them to a bare minimum. For example, you might still get notified that a far-flung Facebook acquaintance got married or landed a new job, but you’ll get sweet relief from the daily kitty snapshots and you don’t need to worry, your friend will never know that you relegated them to your Acquaintance list.

Recommended:

 

To add a friend to your Acquaintance list, just…

  • Hover your mouse over their name on their timeline or in your news feed.
  • When you see the pop-up window with their profile photo and a “Friends” button, hover your mouse over the Friends button. Doing so will reveal a new pop-up menu, starting with “Get Notifications.”
  • Select the “Acquaintances” option.

 

Additional Tip

To hide a post of your own from the folks on your Acquaintances list, choose the “Friends except…” option from the audience selector (the pull-down menu that sits right next to the Post button). When you select “Friends except,” you’ll see a big list of all your friends, as well as a search field; type “Acquaintances” to select your entire Acquaintances list.

Block Downers From Your News Feed

Here’s another scenario: you have a pal who won’t stop with the links to depressing news stories, the “I hate my job” updates, the bitter political rants, and the off-color, not-so-funny jokes. You’re not quite ready to unfriend your bummer of a buddy, but you need a break from seeing their name in your Facebook news feed.

Well, guess what, you can completely block updates from that downer of a friend in just a few clicks:

  • Hover your mouse over the friend’s name on their timeline or in your news feed, then wait for the window with their profile photo to appear.
  • When it does, hover your mouse over the Following button, then select “Unfollow [name of friend].”
  • Using the Facebook app for iOS or Android? Find an update for a friend in your news feed, tap the little downward arrow in the corner of the update, then tap “Unfollow [name of friend].”
  • Last but not least, enjoy the silence.

 

Blocking facebook friends

It’s easy to block all of a friend’s updates from appearing in your news feed.

 

Learn more:

 

Additional Tip | Block Facebook Friends

You can unfollow whole batches of friends using the Facebook app for Android and iOS. Tap the ‘More’ button (on the bottom-right corner of the screen for iOS, or the top-right corner for Android), scroll down and tap ‘News Feed Preferences’, tap “Unfollow people to hide their posts,” then start tapping faces.

 

Relegate A ‘Frenemy’ To Your Facebook Restricted list

Assuming you added your conniving boss as a Facebook friend your first week on the job … and now you’re regretting it. You’re thinking twice about every photo upload and every update you post, but unfriending your boss isn’t an option. What do you do?

Try this: put him or her on your Facebook “Restricted” list, a friend list who you’re close to unfriending.

Once you banish someone to your Restricted list, they’ll no longer see any of your updates, photos, or other Facebook activity—or at least, nothing that you haven’t flagged as “Public” in your privacy settings.

In other words, putting a frenemy on your Facebook Restricted list is as close as you can get to unfriending someone without actually unfriending them.

 

Here’s how you do it:

  • Hover your mouse over their name in your news feed or on their timeline, wait for the pop-up window to appear, then click the Friends button.
  • Select “Add to another list” from the menu, scroll all the way down, then click Restricted.

N/B: While Facebook won’t notify a friend that you’ve put them on your Restricted list, a frenemy with a sharp eye may  notice that they’re not seeing your “friends only” updates anymore. Also, you’ll still have to “unfollow” people on your Restricted list to keep their Facebook updates out of your news feed.

 facebook block account

Have you had enough of a certain Facebook frenemy? Relegate them to your Restricted list.

 

Additional Tips

Do you want to see a list of all the friends whose posts are blocked from your news feed?

First of all, go to your news feed, hover your mouse over the ‘News Feed’ link in the top-left corner of the page, click the little gear icon, then click ‘Edit Preferences’.
A pop-up window should appear with lists of friends who you’ve seen the most in the past week, along with a second list of unfollowed friends. Have you changed your mind on any of them? Just click the “+ Follow” button next to a name.

 

Fantastic Read:

 

Is This Option Flawless?

No. There are a few other things that could expose some of your information to the friend you are trying to ditch. For example, if you have a mutual friend in common, and that mutual friend tags you both, then your friend might see that you’ve been tagged.

Or, if you and your “frenemy” both follow a public page on Facebook like Beyonce, and you click “Like” on Beyonce’s funny picture, then your friend could potentially see that you’ve liked it.  That’s because she is also a fan of Beyonce and Beyonce’s post are available to “Everyone”.

So while there is no guarantee of total deletion of this person from your Facebook life, this is about as close as you can come to unfriending or blocking a person.

 

Did you find this guidelines useful? Then please hit on the share buttons. Any questions, suggestions and comments? Please drop them in the comment box, we will really appreciate it!

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

The post How to Block Facebook Friends Without Them Knowing appeared first on JEELDA.

Source: https://www.jeelda.com/block-facebook-friends/

Advertisements